Press release

English [pdf]
Swedish [pdf]
French [pdf]
German [pdf]
Turkish [pdf]


The Permanent Secretary

Press release
12 October 2006

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2006

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2006 is awarded to the Turkish writer Orhan Pamuk

“who in the quest for the melancholic soul of his native city has discovered new symbols for the clash and interlacing of cultures”.

The Swedish Academy

To cite this section
MLA style: Press release. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2021. Tue. 7 Dec 2021. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.