Gothenburg 2017

The future of truth

9 December 2017

Seven Nobel Laureates were joined by thought-leaders and delegates for a day of inspiring discussions on one of the hottest topics of our time: the future of truth. The diverse array of panellists brought perspectives from art, science, politics and more, sharing insights and challenging preconceptions. Discussions on stage ranged from trust in media and the causes of terrorism to the value of the scientific method which continued in the breaks to create an atmosphere of excitement.

Participating Nobel Laureates were Steven Chu, 1997 Physics Laureate, Peter Doherty, 1996 Physiology or Medicine Laureate, Shirin Ebadi, 2003 Peace Prize Laureate, David J. Gross, 2004 Physics Laureate, Michael Levitt, 2013 Chemistry Laureate, Joseph E. Stiglitz, 2001 Economic Sciences Laureate and Frank Wilczek, 2004 Physics Laureate.

The Nobel Week Dialogue 2017 was delivered in partnership with Carl Bennet AB, City of Gothenburg, Ericsson and Region Västra Götaland with support from Sten A Olsson foundation for Research and Culture.

© Nobel Media. Photo: Anna Svanberg

“Truth: that which is revealed by the scientific method. Humankind's greatest invention.”

– David Gross, 2004 Nobel Prize in Physics

Nobel Week Dialogue

Discover our events