Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Peace Prize 1985
International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War

Share this:
The Norwegian Nobel Committee logotype


The Nobel Peace Prize for 1985

The Norwegian Nobel Committeehas decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 1985 to the organisation International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War.

It is the committee's opinion that this organisation has performed a considerable service to mankind by spreading authoritative information and by creating an awareness of the catastrophic consequences of atomic warfare. The committee believes that this in turn contributes to an increase in the pressure of public opposition to the proliferation of atomic weapons and to a redefining of priorities, with greater attention being paid to health and other humanitarian issues. Such an awakening of public opinion, as is now apparent both in the East and in the West, in the North and in the South, can give the present arms limitation negotiations new perspectives and a new seriousness.

In this connection the committee attaches particular importance to the fact that the organisation was formed as a result of a joint initiative by Soviet and American physicians and that it now draws support from physicians in over forty countries all over the world.

It is the committee's intention to invite the organisation's two founders, who now share the title of president – Professor Bernard Lown from the USA and Professor Yevgeny Chazov from the Soviet Union – to receive the Peace Prize on behalf of their organisation.

Oslo, October 5, 1985

From Nobel Lectures, Peace 1981-1990, Editor-in-Charge Tore Frängsmyr, Editor Irwin Abrams, World Scientific Publishing Co., Singapore, 1997


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation 1985
Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "The Nobel Peace Prize 1985 - Press Release". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 23 Jul 2018. <>