Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1986
Ernst Ruska, Gerd Binnig, Heinrich Rohrer

Share this:

Ernst Ruska - Facts

Ernst Ruska

Ernst Ruska

Born: 25 December 1906, Heidelberg, Germany

Died: 27 May 1988, West Berlin, Germany

Affiliation at the time of the award: Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin, Federal Republic of Germany

Prize motivation: "for his fundamental work in electron optics, and for the design of the first electron microscope"

Field: electron optics, instrumentation

Prize share: 1/2


Very small objects can be studied in a microscope, but when objects become as small as the wavelength of light, an image no longer is produced. The discovery that beams of electrons behave as waves with wavelengths shorter than visible light opened up new opportunities. Ernst Ruska discovered that a magnetic coil could be used as a lens for electron beams and developed the first electron microscope in 1933. It captures images of extremely small objects by means of electron beams that are directed towards an object and captured on a screen.

Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Ernst Ruska - Facts". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 24 Jun 2018. <>