Ernst Ruska


Ernst Ruska

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Ernst Ruska
The Nobel Prize in Physics 1986

Born: 25 December 1906, Heidelberg, Germany

Died: 27 May 1988, West Berlin, Germany

Affiliation at the time of the award: Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin, Germany

Prize motivation: “for his fundamental work in electron optics, and for the design of the first electron microscope”

Prize share: 1/2


Very small objects can be studied in a microscope, but when objects become as small as the wavelength of light, an image no longer is produced. The discovery that beams of electrons behave as waves with wavelengths shorter than visible light opened up new opportunities. Ernst Ruska discovered that a magnetic coil could be used as a lens for electron beams and developed the first electron microscope in 1933. It captures images of extremely small objects by means of electron beams that are directed towards an object and captured on a screen.

To cite this section
MLA style: Ernst Ruska – Facts. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sun. 14 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.