The Nobel Prize in Physics 1986

Ernst Ruska

Prize share: 1/2

Gerd Binnig

Prize share: 1/4

Heinrich Rohrer

Prize share: 1/4

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1986 was divided, one half awarded to Ernst Ruska "for his fundamental work in electron optics, and for the design of the first electron microscope", the other half jointly to Gerd Binnig and Heinrich Rohrer "for their design of the scanning tunneling microscope."

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1986. Nobel Media AB 2018. Thu. 16 Aug 2018. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.