The Nobel Prize in Physics 1989

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded this year's Nobel Prize in Physics for contributions of importance for the development of atomic precision spectroscopy


Hans Dehmelt
University of Washington
Seattle, USA

Wolfgang Paul
Universität Bonn
Federal Republic of Germany

Norman F. Ramsey
Harvard University
Cambridge, USA

for the development of the
ion trap technique

for the invention of the separated oscillatory fields method and its use in the hydrogen maser and other atomic clocks


Copyright © Nobel Media AB 2018