The Nobel Prize in Physics 1989

Norman F. Ramsey
Harvard University
Cambridge, USA

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics for contributions of importance for the development of atomic precision spectroscopy



Hans Dehmelt
University of Washington
Seattle, USA

Wolfgang Paul
Universität Bonn
Federal Republic of Germany

for the development of the
ion trap technique

for the invention of the separated oscillatory fields method and its use in the hydrogen maser and other atomic clocks


To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1989. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Fri. 14 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.