Norman F. Ramsey


Norman F. Ramsey

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Norman F. Ramsey
The Nobel Prize in Physics 1989

Born: 27 August 1915, Washington, D.C., USA

Died: 4 November 2011, Wayland, MA, USA

Affiliation at the time of the award: Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA

Prize motivation: “for the invention of the separated oscillatory fields method and its use in the hydrogen maser and other atomic clocks”

Prize share: 1/2


According to the laws of quantum mechanics, atoms can have only fixed energy levels. When there are transitions among different energy levels, electromagnetic radiation with certain frequencies is emitted or absorbed. After Isaac Isidor Rabi developed a method to determine these frequencies by passing a beam of atoms through a magnetic and electromagnetic field, Norman Ramsey refined the method in 1949 through the interference of two electromagnetic fields. This improved precision and became the basis for the atomic clock.

To cite this section
MLA style: Norman F. Ramsey – Facts. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Fri. 14 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.