The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1988

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded
this year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry to



Dr Johann Deisenhofer
University of Texas
Southwestern Medical
Center, Dallas, USA

Professor Robert Huber
für Biochemie,
Martinsried, FRG

Dr Hartmut Michel
für Biophysik,
Frankfurt/Main, FRG



for the determination of the three-dimensional structure
of a photosynthetic reaction center.


To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1988. Nobel Media AB 2019. Sun. 16 Jun 2019. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.