Johann Deisenhofer


Johann Deisenhofer

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Johann Deisenhofer
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1988

Born: 30 September 1943, Zusamaltheim, Germany

Affiliation at the time of the award: University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, Dallas, TX, USA; Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA

Prize motivation: “for the determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction centre”

Prize share: 1/3


One of the most fundamental processes of life is photosynthesis, which uses energy from sunlight to make carbohydrates out of water and carbon dioxide. The energy conversion takes place through the transportation of electrons via a number of proteins that are attached to special membranes in the cell. In 1983 Johann Deisenhofer, Hartmut Michel and Robert Huber determined the structure for the photosynthetic reaction center.

To cite this section
MLA style: Johann Deisenhofer – Facts. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Mon. 4 Dec 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Streams during Nobel Week

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize lectures, the Nobel Prize Concert, Nobel Week Dialogue, the prize award ceremonies in Oslo and Stockholm and Nobel Peace Prize Forum here at
Watch lectures and award ceremonies

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.