The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1997

Paul D. Boyer

Prize share: 1/4

John E. Walker

Prize share: 1/4

Jens C. Skou

Prize share: 1/2

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1997 was divided, one half jointly to Paul D. Boyer and John E. Walker "for their elucidation of the enzymatic mechanism underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate (ATP)" and the other half to Jens C. Skou "for the first discovery of an ion-transporting enzyme, Na+, K+ -ATPase."

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1997. Nobel Media AB 2018. Fri. 17 Aug 2018. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.