The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1998

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the 1998 Nobel Prize in Chemistry in the area of quantum chemistry to Walter Kohn for his development of the density-functional theory and to John A. Pople for his development of computational methods for use in quantum chemistry.


To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1998. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2022. Tue. 9 Aug 2022. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.