The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony 2008

Watch the 2008 Nobel Prize Award Ceremony from the Stockholm Concert Hall in Sweden, 10 December 2008, with commentary by an English-speaking presenter.

The members of the Royal Family make their entrance into the Concert Hall, and the royal anthem Kungssången is played. The Laureates take their seats on the stage to March in D Major by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, played by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra (8:18). Dr Marcus Storch, Chairman of the Board of the Nobel Foundation makes his opening speech (10:46). Scherzo from The Pastoral Suite by Lars-Erik Larsson is played (19:52).

After a speech by Professor Lars Brink the Nobel Prize in Physics is presented to the Nobel Laureates Yoichiro Nambu, and Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa (23:42). Professor Måns Ehrenberg then makes his speech about the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, presented to Nobel Laureates Osamu Shimomura, Martin Chalfie and Roger Y. Tsien (31:33). Michael Schmidberger is bass soloist in Calumny from The Barber of Seville by Giaocchino Rossini (39:27). Professor Jan Andersson speaks for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, presented to Nobel Laureates Harald zur Hausen, Françoise Barré-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier (44:44). Another piece of music with Michael Schmidberger as soloist is performed: Isis and Osiris from The Magic Flute by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (51:45). After a speech by Professor Horace Engdahl the Nobel Prize in Literature is presented to Nobel Laureate Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio (54:34). Nino Rota’s 8 ½, Otto e mezzo is played by the orchestra (1:03:14). After a speech by Professor Bertil Holmlund the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel is presented to Laureate Paul Krugman (1:07:54).

The Award Ceremony ends with the Swedish national anthem Du gamla, Du fria (1:13:20). The Queen of Sheba’s Festivity March by Hugo Alfvén is played while the Royal Family and the guests leave the auditorium (1:15:00).

Read the Opening Address
Copyright © The Nobel Foundation 2008

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony 2008. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Thu. 20 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.