Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2008 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel to Paul Krugman, presented by Professor Gunnar Ă–quist, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 13 October 2008.

Professor Bertil Holmlund introduced, followed by a presentation on the prize-awarded work by Professor Peter Englund, and a telephone press conference with Paul Krugman.


Following the announcement, Professor Peter Englund, Secretary of the Economics Sciences Prize Committee, was interviewed by senior editor Simon Frantz about the 2008 Laureate Paul Krugman.

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sat. 13 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.