The Nobel Prize in Literature 1959

Salvatore Quasimodo

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Prize in Literature 1959 was awarded to Salvatore Quasimodo "for his lyrical poetry, which with classical fire expresses the tragic experience of life in our own times"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Literature 1959. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Sat. 30 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize announcements

Don't miss the Nobel Prize announcements 2-9 October!

Watch the live stream of the announcements.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.