Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature to Mario Vargas Llosa, presented by Professor Peter Englund, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, on 7 October 2010.


After the announcement, Peter Englund, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, told senior editor Simon Frantz that Mario Vargas Llosa is one of the great Latin American storytellers – a master of dialogue who has been searching for the elusive concept known as the total novel, and who believes in the power of fiction to improve the world.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Thu. 18 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.