Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2011 Nobel Prize in Literature to Tomas Tranströmer, presented by Professor Peter Englund, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, on 6 October 2011.


Immediately following the announcement, Peter Englund, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, shared with freelance journalist Sven Hugo Persson some background on Swedish poet and 2011 Nobel Laureate in Literature, Tomas Tranströmer. Englund described ‘who he is’, explained some of themes that underscore his work and highlighted which English translations are ‘pure gold’.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Tue. 18 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.