The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2020

Harvey J. Alter

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Joy Asico

Prize share: 1/3

Michael Houghton

© University of Alberta. Photo: Michael Holly

Prize share: 1/3

Charles M. Rice

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Stefan Bladh

Prize share: 1/3

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2020 was awarded jointly to Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice "for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2020. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Fri. 29 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Coming up

This year’s Nobel Prize announcements will take place 2–9 October. All announcements will be streamed live here on

See the full schedule
Announcement dates

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.

Nobel Prize and laureates

Twelve laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2020, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind.

Their work and discoveries range from the formation of black holes and genetic scissors to efforts to combat hunger and develop new auction formats.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2020 graphics