The Nobel Peace Prize 1911

Tobias Michael Carel Asser

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/2

Alfred Hermann Fried

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/2

The Nobel Peace Prize 1911 was divided equally between Tobias Michael Carel Asser "for his role as co-founder of the Institut de droit international, initiator of the Conferences on International Private Law (Conférences de Droit international privé) at the Hague, and pioneer in the field of international legal relations" and Alfred Hermann Fried "for his effort to expose and fight what he considers to be the main cause of war, namely, the anarchy in international relations"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Peace Prize 1911. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sun. 14 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.