International Committee of the Red Cross


ICRC logotype


Comité international de la Croix Rouge (International Committee of the Red Cross)
The Nobel Peace Prize 1963

Founded: 1863, Geneva, Switzerland

Prize motivation: “for promoting the principles of the Geneva Convention and cooperation with the UN”

Prize share: 1/2

Also awarded: The Nobel Peace Prize 1917, The Nobel Peace Prize 1944

Peace Prize winner for the third time

The International Committee of the Red Cross was declared the winner of the Peace Prize both in 1917 and in 1944. The main reason was its efforts during the two World Wars.

In 1963, it was 100 years since the Peace Prize Laureate in 1901, Henri Dunant, founded the Red Cross. On the occasion of the centenary, the Norwegian Nobel Committee wished to call attention to the importance of the organization in the global community. It also wished to reward the organization's work since World War II, but this time the Swiss Red Cross Committee shared the honor with the League of Red Cross Societies. Together, the two organizations made up what is now known as the International Red Cross.

The Nobel Committee paid tribute to the International Committee of the Red Cross in particular for its work on the revised Geneva Convention of 1949 and its work during the conflicts in Hungary, Algeria, the Congo and Tibet.

To cite this section
MLA style: Peace Prize Laureate for the Third Time. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Thu. 28 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Coming up

This year’s Nobel Prize announcements will take place 2–9 October. All announcements will be streamed live here on

See the full schedule
Announcement dates

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.