Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and its director Mohamed ElBaradei, presented by Professor Ole Danbolt Mjøs, Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, on October 7, 2005.


The announcement was followed by an interview with Professor Geir Lundestad, Director of the Norwegian Nobel Institute, about the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize Laureates. Interviewer is Tove Bjørgaas, freelance journalist.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Fri. 27 Jan 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.