The Nobel Peace Prize 2005

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)


Prize share: 1/2

Mohamed ElBaradei

Photo: M. Pelletier

Prize share: 1/2

The Nobel Peace Prize 2005 was awarded jointly to International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and Mohamed ElBaradei "for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way."

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Peace Prize 2005. Nobel Media AB 2020. Tue. 27 Oct 2020. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.