Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2006 Nobel Peace Prize to Muhammad Yunus and Grameen Bank, presented by Professor Ole Danbolt Mjøs, Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, on 13 October 2006.

Following the announcement, Geir Lundestad, Secretary of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, was interviewed by freelance journalist Øystein Heggen about the 2006 Nobel Peace Prize Laureates.

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Mon. 27 Mar 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.