The Nobel Peace Prize 2006

Muhammad Yunus

Photo: N.A. Mamun

Prize share: 1/2

Grameen Bank logotype


Prize share: 1/2

The Nobel Peace Prize 2006 was awarded jointly to Muhammad Yunus and Grameen Bank "for their efforts to create economic and social development from below"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Peace Prize 2006. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Sat. 30 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize announcements

Don't miss the Nobel Prize announcements 2-9 October!

Watch the live stream of the announcements.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.