Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad, presented by Berit Reiss-Andersen, Chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, on 5 October 2018.

Interview about the awarded work

“If we want people to say ‘no more war’, we have to show how brutal it is”

Following the announcement, Berit Reiss-Andersen, Chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, was interviewed by journalist Stig Arild Pettersen about the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize.

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Thu. 20 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.