The Nobel Prize in Physics 2006

John C. Mather

Photo: P. Izzo

Prize share: 1/2

George F. Smoot

Photo: J. Bauer

Prize share: 1/2

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2006 was awarded jointly to John C. Mather and George F. Smoot "for their discovery of the blackbody form and anisotropy of the cosmic microwave background radiation"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2006. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2022. Mon. 28 Nov 2022. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.