The Nobel Prize in Physics 2007

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2007

prev back next

1086 First description of a compass in China by Shen Kuo in the book Meng Xi Bi Tan.

1857 Lord Kelvin discovers magnetoresistance.

1902 Nobel Prize awarded to Hendrik Lorentz and Pieter Zeeman “in recognition of the extraordinary service they rendered by their researches into the influence of magnetism upon radiation phenomena.”

1925 Samuel Goudsmit and George Uhlenbeck propose that electrons have an inherent degree of freedom, spin.

1970 Nobel Prize awarded to Louis Néel “for fundamental work and discoveries concerning antiferromagnetism and ferrimagnetism which have led to important applications in solid state physics”.

1977 Nobel Prize awarded to Philip Anderson, Nevill Mott and John Van Vleck “for their fundamental theoretical investigations of the electronic structure of magnetic and disordered systems.”

1994 Nobel Prize awarded to Bertram Brockhouse and Clifford Shull “for pioneering contributions to the development of neutron scattering techniques for studies of condensed matter.”


| The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Physics 2007 | Magnetism and resistance at nano-level | Nanotechnology | Vital for compact disks| Timeline | Further reading | Credits |

Nobel Poster from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, web adapted by Nobel Web AB.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2007. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Mon. 2 Oct 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize announcements

Don't miss the Nobel Prize announcements 2-9 October!

Watch the live stream of the announcements.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.