Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physics to Yoichiro Nambu, Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa, presented by Professor Gunnar Ă–quist, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 7 October 2008.

Professor Joseph Nordgren introduced, followed by a presentation on the prize-awarded work by Professor Lars Brink, and a telephone press conference with Nobel Laureate Makoto Kobayashi.


Following the announcement, Professor Per Carlson told senior editor Simon Frantz about the importance of broken symmetry in particle physics, and why broken symmetry helps us to understand how our Universe was created after the Big Bang.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Thu. 30 Nov 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.