Toshihide Maskawa


Toshihide Maskawa

© The Nobel Foundation Photo: U. Montan

Toshihide Maskawa
The Nobel Prize in Physics 2008

Born: 7 February 1940, Nagoya, Japan

Died: 23 July 2021, Kyoto, Japan

Affiliation at the time of the award: Kyoto Sangyo University, Kyoto, Japan; Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics (YITP), Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan

Prize motivation: “for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature”

Prize share: 1/4


Toshihide Maskawa was born in Nagoya, Japan. His parents made a living as traders, selling mainly sugar. Maskawa chose a different path in life and was accepted to Nagoya University. He earned his PhD in particle physics in 1967 from the same university. Maskawa carried out his Nobel Prize-awarded work at Kyoto University. Since that time, he has been affiliated with both Nagoya and Kyoto universities. Toshihide Maskawa was married with two sons.


Physicists long assumed that nature is characterized by symmetry. In a kind of mirrored world where right and left changed places and matter was exchanged for antimatter, natural laws would stand. After it was discovered that the decay of certain particles (kaons) was asymmetrical, a mathematics-based explanation for this was presented by Toshihide Maskawa and Makoto Kobayashi in 1972. The explanation meant that there must be at least three families of quarks that form matter. This theory was later verified.

To cite this section
MLA style: Toshihide Maskawa – Facts. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Fri. 1 Mar 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.