Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Physics to Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov, presented by Professor Staffan Normark, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 5 October 2010.

Detailed information about the Nobel Laureates’ work was presented by Professor Ingemar Lundström and Professor Per Delsing.


Following the announcement, Professor Ingemar Lundström showed senior editor Simon Frantz how a pencil and chicken wire can demonstrate the extraordinary properties of graphene, and discussed its potential practical applications. He also discussed why the creation of the thinnest material known is the subject of the Nobel Prize only six years after its discovery.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Wed. 29 Mar 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.