The Nobel Prize in Physics 2020

Roger Penrose

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Fergus Kennedy

Prize share: 1/2

Reinhard Genzel

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

Prize share: 1/4

Andrea Ghez

© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Annette Buhl

Prize share: 1/4

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2020 was divided, one half awarded to Roger Penrose "for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity", the other half jointly to Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez "for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2020. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Sun. 29 Jan 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.