Nobel Prizes and Laureates

Nobel Prizes and Laureates

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2003
Alexei Abrikosov, Vitaly L. Ginzburg, Anthony J. Leggett

Share this:

Alexei Abrikosov - Nobel Lecture

Type II Superconductors and the Vortex Lattice

Alexei Abrikosov held his Nobel Lecture December 8, 2003, at Aula Magna, Stockholm University. He was presented by Professor Mats Jonson, Chairman of the Nobel Committee for Physics. Summary: The discovery of two types of superconductors follows the Ginzburg-Landau theory of superconductors, built on a second order phase transition. Abrikosov shows how the theory of type II superconductors, where the magnetic field penetrates, was developed. All unusual properties of the high-temperature superconductors that were discovered in the 1980's could be explained.

See a Video of the Nobel Lecture
2 min.
Nobel Lecture
46 min.

Read the Nobel Lecture
Pdf 110 kB
Copyright © The Nobel Foundation 2003

From Les Prix Nobel. The Nobel Prizes 2003, Editor Tore Frängsmyr, [Nobel Foundation], Stockholm, 2004

To read the text you need Acrobat Reader.


Share this:
To cite this page
MLA style: "Alexei Abrikosov - Nobel Lecture: Type II Superconductors and the Vortex Lattice". Nobel Media AB 2014. Web. 16 Jul 2018. <>