The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004


     Earlier Nobel Laureates whose work was of great consequence for this year's award:

1949 Hideki Yukawa, The theory of nuclear forces
1957 Chen Ning Yang and Tsung-Dao Lee, Parity violation in particle physics
1965 Sin-Itiro Tomonaga, Julian Schwinger and Richard P. Feynman, QED - the quantum theory of electromagnetic interactions
1969 Murray Gell-Mann, Symmetry properties of elementary particles
1979 Sheldon Lee Glashow, Abdus Salam and Steven Weinberg, The theory of electroweak interactions
1982 Kenneth G. Wilson, The theory of phase transformations
1990 Jerome I. Friedman, Henry W. Kendall and Richard E. Taylor, The discovery of quarks through electron-scattering experiments
1999 Gerardus 't Hooft and Martinus J.G. Veltman, The quantum structure of the electroweak interaction


Copyright © Nobel Media AB 2017