The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004


The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004

     Earlier Nobel Laureates whose work was of great consequence for this year’s award:

1957 Chen Ning Yang and Tsung-Dao Lee, Parity violation in particle physics
1969 Murray Gell-Mann, Symmetry properties of elementary particles
1979 Sheldon Lee Glashow, Abdus Salam and Steven Weinberg, The theory of electroweak interactions
1982 Kenneth G. Wilson, The theory of phase transformations
1999 Gerardus ‘t Hooft and Martinus J.G. Veltman, The quantum structure of the electroweak interaction

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004. Nobel Media AB 2020. Sat. 28 Mar 2020. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.