The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004

David J. Gross

Prize share: 1/3

H. David Politzer

Prize share: 1/3

Frank Wilczek

Prize share: 1/3

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004 was awarded jointly to David J. Gross, H. David Politzer and Frank Wilczek "for the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction."

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004. Nobel Media AB 2018. Thu. 16 Aug 2018. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.