Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2005 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Yves Chauvin, Robert H. Grubbs and Richard R. Schrock, presented by Professor Gunnar Öquist, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on October 5, 2005.

A presentation of the prize-awarded work was held by Professor Per Ahlberg.


The announcement was followed by an interview with Professor Astrid Gräslund about the 2005 Nobel Laureates in Chemistry. Interviewer is Marika Griehsel, freelance journalist.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sun. 14 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.