Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Richard F. Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki, presented by Professor Staffan Normark, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 6 October 2010.

The Nobel Laureates’ work was presented in more detail by Professors Lars Thelander and Jan-Erling B√§ckvall.


Following the announcement Lars Thelander, Chairman of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry, told senior editor Simon Frantz how the reactions developed and refined by the three Nobel Laureates became an essential tool, which allowed chemists to construct complex organic molecules, such as drugs and agrochemicals, from scratch.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Tue. 23 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.