Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2012 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, presented by Professor Staffan Normark, Permanent Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 15 October 2012.


Following the announcement, Professor Per Krusell, Chairman of the Economic Sciences Prize Committee, was interviewed by freelance journalist Joanna Rose about the 2012 Prize in Economic Sciences.

Per Krusell summarised the 2012 Prize in Economic Sciences as it captures central things in people’s lives, such as matching marriage partners, new doctors to hospitals and students to schools. He recounts the crucial theoretical work on game theory provided by Lloyd Shapley, and the practical applications such as matching schools and students as proven with Alvin Roth’s contributions.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Thu. 20 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.