Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2013 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, presented by Professor Staffan Normark, Permanent Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 14 October 2013.


Following the announcement, Professor Per Strömberg, Member of the Economic Sciences Prize Committee, was interviewed by journalist Henrik Mitelman about the 2013 Prize in Economic Sciences.

Per Strömberg provided a detailed explanation and background on the 2013 Economic Sciences Prize and the current Laureates. He mentioned practical applications of the Prize including index funds and modern portfolio management.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Fri. 19 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.