Paul M. Romer


Paul M. Romer

© Nobel Media AB. Photo: A. Mahmoud

Paul M. Romer
The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2018

Born: 1955, Denver, CO, USA

Affiliation at the time of the award: NYU Stern School of Business, New York, NY, USA

Prize motivation: “for integrating technological innovations into long-run macroeconomic analysis”

Prize share: 1/2


Paul Romer was born in Denver, Colorado in the United States. He studied at the University of Chicago, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario, Canada. He received his doctorate at the University of Chicago in 1983. He has worked at the University of Rochester, University of Chicago, University of California, Berkeley, and Stanford University. He also served as chief economist at the World Bank. Since 2011 he has been associated with New York University.


At its heart, economics deals with the management of scarce resources. Nature dictates the main constraints on economic growth and our knowledge determines how well we deal with these constraints. Paul Romer has demonstrated how knowledge can function as a driver of long-term economic growth. He showed how economic forces govern the willingness of firms to produce new ideas. Romer’s central theory, which was published in 1990, explains how ideas are different to other goods and require specific conditions to thrive in a market.

To cite this section
MLA style: Paul M. Romer – Facts – 2018. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Fri. 19 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.