Shmuel Yosef Agnon


Shmuel Yosef Agnon

Shmuel Yosef Agnon

Born: 17 July 1888, Buczacz (now Buchach), Austria-Hungary (now Ukraine)

Died: 17 February 1970, Rehovot, Israel

Residence at the time of the award: Israel

Prize motivation: "for his profoundly characteristic narrative art with motifs from the life of the Jewish people."

Language: Hebrew

Prize share: 1/2

To cite this section
MLA style: Shmuel Agnon – Facts. Nobel Media AB 2018. Tue. 21 Aug 2018. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.