Kenzaburo Oe


Kenzaburo Oe

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Kenzaburo Oe
The Nobel Prize in Literature 1994

Born: 31 January 1935, Uchiko, Japan

Died: 3 March 2023, Tokyo, Japan

Residence at the time of the award: Japan

Prize motivation: “who with poetic force creates an imagined world, where life and myth condense to form a disconcerting picture of the human predicament today”

Language: Japanese

Prize share: 1/1


Kenzaburo Oe was born in Uchiko, Japan, and grew up with six siblings. At the age of 18, he began to study French literature at the University of Tokyo. He made his debut in the 1950s with short stories that were influenced by contemporary French and American authors. One of Oe’s sons was born with brain damage, and his disability is a recurring motif in the novels. The book A Personal Matter, published in 1962, was a way for the author to process and accept this event.


Several of Kenzaburo Oe’s novels deal with the aftermath of World War II and the atomic bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, including Hiroshima Notes (1965). Oe is a committed pacifist and has been involved in campaigns against nuclear weapons and nuclear power. Because of the content of some of his short stories and essays, Oe has become controversial in his native country. The essay Okinawa Notes, which depicts how members of Japan’s military forced the population on the island of Okinawa to take their lives during the invasion in 1945, led to the suing of Oe by two military officers.

To cite this section
MLA style: Kenzaburo Oe – Facts. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Fri. 19 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.