Imre Kertész


Imre Kertész

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Imre Kertész
The Nobel Prize in Literature 2002

Born: 9 November 1929, Budapest, Hungary

Died: 31 March 2016, Budapest, Hungary

Residence at the time of the award: Hungary

Prize motivation: “for writing that upholds the fragile experience of the individual against the barbaric arbitrariness of history”

Language: Hungarian

Prize share: 1/1


Imre Kertész was born in Budapest in 1929. He was 14 years old during the Holocaust, when he was taken to the concentration camp in Auschwitz, and later Buchenwald. This trauma is at the heart of Kertész’s writing, and experiences in the camps serve as the basis of both his debut novel Fateless and his later works. He was rescued in 1945 and then returned to Budapest, where he worked as a journalist, a translator of German literature and later as a writer. During the 1990s Kertész moved to Berlin.


Imre Kertész’s work on his debut novel Fateless continued for many years before it was published in 1975. The book is about young György Köves, who is arrested and deported to concentration camps but survives. In his writing, Imre Kertész explored what it means for a person to live under an ideological death sentence, and how one can handle surviving when so many other people died. With his novels, Kertész associates himself with the literary concept called “witness literature” in which the author describes a trauma from personal experience.

To cite this section
MLA style: Imre Kertész – Facts. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Thu. 20 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.