Arvid Carlsson

Curriculum Vitae

Born in Uppsala, Sweden, Jan. 25, 1923. Entered the University of Lund, Sweden, in 1941. “M.L.” (corresponding to American M.D.), 1951, “M.D.” (corresponding to American Ph.D.), 1951, Univ. of Lund. Assistant of the Department of Pharmacology, Univ. of Lund from 1944, Assistant Professor 1951, Associate Professor 1956. 1959 Professor of Pharmacology, Univ. of Gothenburg, Sweden (Chairman 1959-1976). Emeritus 1989. Visiting Scientist at the Laboratory of Chemical Pharmacology, National Heart Institute, Bethesda, Md., USA, 1955-1956.

Address: Department of Pharmacology, Göteborg University, Medicinaregatan 7,
Box 431, SE-405 30 Göteborg, Sweden
Awards and Distinguished Lectures
1947 Magnus Blix’ Prize, Univ. of Lund, Sweden.
1970 “First Annual James Parkinson Lecture and Award”, Parkinson’s Disease Foundation, New York.
  “Pehr Dubb’s Gold Medal, for research in neurochemistry, The Medical Society of Gothenburg.
1973 “Second Annual Grass Foundation Lecture”, Society for Neuroscience in San Diego, California.
1974 “Anders Jahre’s Medical Prize” University of Oslo, Norway.
1975 “Stanley R. Dean Lecture and Award, American College of Psychiatrists, Phoenix, Arizona.
  “Anna-Monika Stiftung, 1st Prize”, Munich, for research on antidepressants and neuroleptics.
1978 His Majesty, The King’s of Sweden Medal.
1979 “Wolf Prize in Medicine”, Jerusalem, Israel (together with R.W. Sperry and O. Hornykiewicz).
1981 “Björkénska Priset”, Univ. of Uppsala, Sweden.
  “The Thomas William Salmon Lectures and Medal”, New York.
1982 “Gairdner Foundation Award”, Toronto, Canada.
1985 “Hilda and Alfred Eriksson’s Prize”, The Royal Swedish Academy of Science.
  “Senator Dr. Franz Burda Stiftung”, Vienna, Austria, for Research on Parkinson’s Disease.
1986 The Medal of Helsinki University, Finland.
1988 “Annual Neurobiology Lectureship Award, Univ. of Lund, Sweden. The “Jubileumspris” of the Swedish Medical Association.
1989 “Distinguished Lecture Series”, Irvine Neuroscience Association, Irvine, California.
  “The Second Annual Bristol-Myers Award for Distinguished Achievement in Neuroscience Research”, New York (together with J. Axelrod and P. Greengard).
  “Varro E. Tyler Distinguished Lectureship”, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana.
1990 “The Paul Hoch Prize”, American Psychopathological Association, New York.
  “The Fred Springer Award”, American Parkinson Disease Association, Miami, Florida.
1991 “William K. Warren Schizophrenia Research Award, Tucson, Arizona.
1992 The “Open Mind Award in Psychiatry”, Janssen Research Foundation, Paris, France, together with H. Hippius and H. van Praag.
  The “Julius Axelrod Medal”, The Catecholamine Club, Anaheim, California.
1993 Lilly Lecture, Indianapolis, Indiana.
1994 Albert Barrett Memorial Lecture, Univ. of Michigan.
  The Japan Prize, in Psychology and Psychiatry, The Science and Technology Foundation of Japan.
  The “Lieber Prize” for research in schizophrenia, given by the Scientific Council of The National Alliance for Research in Schizophrenia and Depression, USA.
1995 The Research Prize of the Lundbeck Foundation, Roskilde, Denmark. The Robert J and Claire Pasarow Foundation Award for Neuropsychiatric Research. L.A., USA.
  Synthelabo Lecture, VIII ECNP Congress, Venice.
1996 Plaque for “Lifetime Achievement”. American Society of Biological Psychiatry.
  Gold Medal and Honorary Diploma, The Swedish Parkinson Association.
1997 Kraepelin-Medaille in Gold. Max-Planck-Institut får Psychiatrie, München, Germany.
1998 Gold Medal, Soc. of Biol. Psychiatry, Toronto, Canada.
1999 Gold Medal, Distinguished Lecture and Award, Univ. of Bari, Italy.
  Antonio Feltrinelli International Award, Accademia dei Lincei, Rome.
2000 Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology.
Honorary Degrees
1976 M.D. Honoris Causa, Univ. of Cagliary, Italy.
1977 Doctor of Pharmacy Honoris Causa, Univ. of Uppsala, Sweden.
1990 Ph.D. Honoris Causa, Univ. of Helsinki, Finland.
1991 Dr. rer. physiol. honoris causa, Univ. of Marburg, Germany.
1962 Member of the Collegium Internationale Neuro-Psychopharmacologicum (President 1978-1980).
1968 Member of the Royal Society for Science and Arts in Gothenburg.
1972 Foreign Member of the Japanese Pharmacological Society.
1974 Foreign Member of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology.
1974 1974 Corresponding Member of the German Pharmacological Society.
1975 Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.
1983 1983 Honorary Fellow of The Medical Society of Gothenburg.
1989 Member of the Academia Europaea.
1991 Honorary Fellow of the World Federation of Societies of Biological Psychiatry.
1992 Honorary Fellow of the Collegium Internationale Neuro-Psychopharmacologicum.
1992 Honorary Fellow of Academia Medicinae & Psychiatriae.
1996 Foreign Associate Member of The Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences, U.S.A.
1997 Honorary Fellow of the Swedish Society of Biological Psychiatry.
1998 Honorary Member of the German Society of Biological Psychiatry.
1999 Honorary Member of the Scandinavian Society for Psychopharmacology.
2000 Honorary Member of “Parkinsonföreningen i Västra Sverige”.

From Les Prix Nobel. The Nobel Prizes 2000, Editor Tore Frängsmyr, [Nobel Foundation], Stockholm, 2001

This CV was written at the time of the award and later published in the book series Les Prix Nobel/Nobel Lectures. The information is sometimes updated with an addendum submitted by the Laureate. To cite this document, always state the source as shown above.


Copyright © The Nobel Foundation 2000

To cite this section
MLA style: Arvid Carlsson – Curriculum Vitae. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Thu. 20 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.