The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2005

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2005



The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine jointly to Barry Marshall and Robin Warren for their discovery of the bacterium Helicobacter pylori and its role in gastritis and peptic ulcer disease. Thanks to this pioneering discovery, peptic ulcer disease is no longer a chronic, frequently disabling condition, but a disease that can be permanently cured.

  prize winners

Barry Marshall
Born 1951
Helicobacter pylori Research Laboratory, Queen Elizabeth II Medical Centre, Nedlands, Perth, Australia.

Robin Warren
Born 1937
Department of Pathology, Royal Perth Hospital, Perth, Australia.

human stomach

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2005. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Sun. 4 Jun 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.