Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2006 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Andrew Z. Fire and Craig C. Mello, presented by Professor Hans Jörnvall, Secretary of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine, on 2 October 2006.

A presentation of the prize-awarded work was held by Professor Göran K. Hansson.

Following the announcement, Professor Göran K. Hansson was interviewed by freelance journalist Marika Griehsel about the 2006 Nobel Laureates in Physiology or Medicine.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Wed. 8 Feb 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.