Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Harald zur Hausen, Françoise Barré-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier, presented by Professor Hans Jörnvall, Secretary of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine, on 6 October 2008.

A presentation of the prize-awarded work was held by Professor Jan Andersson, followed by a press conference.


Following the announcement, Professor Jan Andersson told senior editor Simon Frantz why the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was divided between two discoveries of viruses involved in diseases that affect global health.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Thu. 8 Jun 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.