Friends Service Council


Friends Service Council logotype


Friends Service Council
The Nobel Peace Prize 1947

Founded: 1647, London, United Kingdom

Prize motivation: “for their pioneering work in the international peace movement and compassionate effort to relieve human suffering, thereby promoting the fraternity between nations”

Prize share: 1/2

“Children of Light”

On the occasion of the tercentenary in 1947 of the foundation of the Christian community the Quakers, the Nobel Committee resolved to award the Peace Prize to the congregation's two aid organizations. One was The Friends Service Council, which had been established in 1927 to carry out the missionary and aid work of the British Quakers. Its activities were founded in ancient traditions. In accordance with the belief that God's goodness shows itself in good deeds, the Quakers had for a long time been engaged in providing aid to the poor and sick. They regarded social injustice and intolerance as important causes of war, and spearheaded the struggles against slavery, for social reforms, and for women's rights.

The Quakers opposed the use of arms and in the early 1800s took part in the foundation of the first peace societies. In both World Wars they took part in humanitarian aid projects for military and civilian war victims. The 1947 prizes marked the Nobel Committee's recognition both of pioneering work in the international peace movement and of humanitarian work carried out without regard for race or nationality.

To cite this section
MLA style: Friends Service Council – Facts. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Tue. 18 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.