The Nobel Peace Prize 1961

Dag Hjalmar Agne Carl Hammarskjöld

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Peace Prize 1961 was awarded to Dag Hjalmar Agne Carl Hammarskjöld "for developing the UN into an effective and constructive international organization, capable of giving life to the principles and aims expressed in the UN Charter"
Dag Hammarskjöld was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize posthumously. From 1974, the Statutes of the Nobel Foundation stipulate that a Nobel Prize cannot be awarded posthumously.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Peace Prize 1961. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Tue. 26 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Coming up

This year’s Nobel Prize announcements will take place 2–9 October. All announcements will be streamed live here on

See the full schedule
Announcement dates

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.